Easy Pork Posole

Since becoming a new mom I have been guilty of going for the ready-to-cook meals you find at the grocery store. I’m sure there are moms out there with babies who manage to produce a home cooked meal every night. I am not one of those moms…..yet. For many years I spent my weekends trying out new recipes I’d find in my Cooking Light, Food & Wine, or Bon Appetite magazines. I’d often call my mom for a recipe of a dish I was craving that either she or my grandmother used to make. These days, quick meals suit our lifestyle. On most nights my other half is the one that does the cooking while I tend to my little girl. This weekend I decided I was going find the time to make one of my favorite recipes I found in Cooking Light. This can be made on the stove top or in a Crockpot. I’ve made this recipe so much I’ve put my own twist on it.  It’s simple, low-calorie and very flavorful – Pork Posole. The basic recipe allows for a lot of add-ins and garnishes which can be set out on the table. While the more traditional recipes call for a number of ingredients, this one has very few ingredients and is still very tasty. Instead of having Latin/Mexican music on in the background as my mother would have, Michael Bublè is my artist of choice for the day

IMG_0642

2lbs boneless pork loin trimmed and cut

IMG_0643

Add 4 cloves minced garlic, 2tsp oregano, salt, pepper, 1tsp ground cumin

IMG_0646

Roast 4 dried guajillo chile peppers for 3-4 minutes in oven – once roasted, discard of stems and seeds

IMG_0645

Add enough chicken stock to cover pork. Add toasted chile peppers on top, cover Crockpot and cook on low for 5 hours or until pork is tender

IMG_0667

Once pork is cooked, take peppers out of the Crockpot and place in blender

IMG_0668

Add 2 cups chicken broth from Crockpot to peppers in the blender and puree until smooth

IMG_0669

At this point you can add more seasoning if needed

IMG_0670

Pass sauce through a fine mesh strainer to remove any tough skins

IMG_0672

IMG_0673

Add red chile to Crockpot. Through the process, I continue to leave the Crockpot on low.

IMG_0674

Drain and rinse 2 (15.5 oz) cans of white hominy

IMG_0675

Add hominy to Crockpot and heat until warm

photo1

Serve and enjoy. Add all your extra toppings and garnishes:sliced radishes, avocado, chopped onions, fresh cilantro, lime

2 thoughts on “Easy Pork Posole

  1. Pingback: Celebrating with Mariachi Cobre | Modern Latina Mommy

Leave a Reply

