1st Birthday Celebrations

IMG_1613[1]

 

This past Friday my baby girl celebrated her 1st birthday. I found myself, like many mothers, replaying the events of her birth in my mind. I’d look at the clock and remember exactly what I was doing, where I was and what I was feeling. My emotions completely overwhelmed me again one year later. It is such a miracle to experience and of course I couldn’t wait to celebrate her birthday. My professional background is in planning and executing big events. I have planned red carpet premieres in Las Vegas with A-list actors, honoree receptions, was an event manager for the opening of a big expansion in one of the theme parks here in Orlando, yet when it came to her 1st birthday I was overwhelmed.  Yes, I know….she won’t remember a thing and I’m sure she doesn’t even care if I spend $50 or $1000 on her birthday. But the pictures will be forever. I, like many other mothers, am on a budget so no… I didn’t spend a lot of money but I made sure everything was special.

First of all, I come from a big family that lives in El Paso,Texas. So when I went home to visit in November, my baby girl had a birthday party thrown for her by my parents, sisters and brother. They weren’t going to be with her for her actual birthday so it was important to them to have a celebration with family. We had a little ballerina theme party with a burger bar and a mashed potato bar. Her party was at Kid’s Playland Party Hall where they have indoor jumping balloons, a movie room and game room so there was more than enough to do for kids of all ages.

I created her invitation on SimplytoImpress.com  I love this site because it’s so easy to create the perfect invitation. I also used this site for her birth announcements.

Because she had never had a taste of any type of cake or sweet pastry, I asked for her cake to be a sugar-free carrot cake with a cream cheese (low sugar) icing. I also wanted her cake to be dainty, girly but simple and The Sweet Shop made the prettiest cake. I ordered red velvet cupcakes and had flavored popcorn from Popcorn Extravaganza at each table. I love the pop of color the popcorn added.

cake1

In addition to the red velvet cupcakes, we had mini chocolate ones topped with candy hearts. These were made by Happykakepops

mini

All were set up at the main table on a cake tower.

table

My sister contributed the goodie bags for the kids. She included a small bag of candy, hot chocolate, marshmallows, a ballerina paddle ball, and a design-a-mug.

bagfavors

I ordered the most precious tutu set from Tabitha942 on Etsy.com.

 photo

Sophia wore this in November and then again for her actual birthday this past weekend. Tabitha has a wonderful variety of tutu sets so be sure and check out her shop!

Being that Sophie had her “big” party in Texas, I wanted to make something small for her on her actual birthday. She is at a home daycare where the owners were very gracious to let us host a small birthday party for her after their nap time.  We decided to have an Elmo themed party since that is one of the few characters she does recognize.

I bought Elmo Icing Decorations by Wilton at Michaels and a package of Oreo cookies. I put a little icing on the back of each Elmo so it could stick to the cookie. Then I individually wrapped the cookies.

IMG_1645[1]

The Dollar Store had these Elmo balloons

IMG_1644[1]

I purchased the cake from the grocery store (Target, Walmart and Publix had the same options). It was easier for the daycare to have cupcakes so Publix was able to make it a pull-apart-cake.

IMG_1643[1]

The kids received Elmo goodie bags. I made it a point to give them somewhat healthy snacks so I included some cheese crackers, Nature’s Best Elmo bars, fruit snacks and a few little party favors in each of them.

The Party Store had a line of Elmo 1st birthday decorations.

79477_zoom

Because Sophia’s brothers were not able to attend her daycare party due to school, we decided to take her to a character breakfast that weekend at Cape May Cafe  at Disney’s Beach Club Resort. We were able to eat breakfast and take pictures with Minnie, Donald and Goofy to celebrate her birthday.

IMG_1612[1]

IMG_1613[1]

It was the perfect way to end her 1st birthday celebrations.

2 thoughts on “1st Birthday Celebrations

    • Modern Latina Mommy says:

      Hi! So sorry it has taken me this long to respond but thank you for your nice comments! I know everyone says the little ones won’t remember their 1st birthdays but the moment is so special for us as parents. I hope you enjoy planning your daughter’s birthday as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

