Mexican Pasta Shells (Sopa de Conchas)

 

photo

This pasta has become a staple in my household. I grew up eating any and every type of Sopa.  Many refer to a soup as Sopa, however, I grew up knowing it as a side of pasta or Mexican rice. My mother made this for almost every meal – Sopa de Fideo (Vermicelli), Sopa de Arroz (rice), Sopa de Conchas (Pasta Shells),  Sopa de Estrellas (Alphabet Pasta), etc.

The great thing about this is that you use the same exact ingredients with any type of pasta and come out with the same great flavor. You can also add some diced carrots, baby peas or green beans to sneak in some vegetables for picky eaters.  This is one of the first table foods I gave my daughter and she LOVES it.

 

 

IMG_0288

What you will need: 1 cube chicken bouillon 1 can Tomato Sauce 1 (7oz) bag of pasta

 

IMG_0289

Heat 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil over medium heat in pan. Add bag of pasta

At this point prepare your chicken bouillon. I usually put a cube in a coffee mug with 1 cup of water and stick it in the microwave for 2 1/2 minutes until it dissolves.

IMG_0291

Toast the pasta until it’s golden brown (around 2-3 minutes constantly stirring it)

IMG_0292

Once dissolved, pour bouillon into pan.

IMG_0294

Pour in the can of tomato sauce. Also add half a can (use the tomato sauce can) of water.

IMG_0296

Stir the pasta to incorporate the tomato sauce. At this point you can add a quarter of a small onion and/or a whole garlic clove just to give it more flavor

IMG_0297

Cover and simmer on the lowest setting for 10-15 minutes. Do not uncover or stir until at least 10 minutes have passed.

IMG_0299

After the 10-15 minutes check on the pasta to make sure it’s done. Some of the tomato will rise to the top.

IMG_0300

Add grated Mozzarella or Parmesan cheese and stir.

IMG_0301

Delicious and ready to serve!

 

 

9 thoughts on “Mexican Pasta Shells (Sopa de Conchas)

  1. Pingback: Down The Rabbit Hole We Go – Round Rock, TX | A Texas Culinary Love Affair

  2. Thank you for posting your recipe for Conchitas! I’m a Latina….but….can’t cook like one 😕. Though both of my parents are Latino as well. My mom made a lot of American food. From time to time she would make Enchiladas, beans and rice. I did not start experiencing the wonderful Latin/Mexican foods til I met my husband. My mother in Law was the best cook ever!! She passed away 1 year ago. Now more than Ever I find myself wanting to make the meals my mother in law made for my husband. It’s hard though. I have yet to master rice! Beans…they always taste so Blah to me. When I saw how you made the Conchitas and the easy instructions and pics you gave. I tried it and they came out delicious! Thank you! Looking forward to making more of your meals! HAVE A BLESSED DAY!

    • Rosemarie –

      First of all, I’m so sorry for the late response. It’s been a little crazy the past month getting settled in a new job and schedule. Second, you have no idea how much your comments mean to me. I started this blog after I lost 2 of my grandparents and it became a way to honor them and the memories I have as a kid growing up in a border city. The one thing I miss most about my grandmother is her cooking. Conchitas was a staple when I was growing up and even now with my daughter. If we didn’t like what my mom made for dinner (the main dish) there was always sopa and beans for us kids. I agree, rice is a hard one to master. Sometimes it comes out perfect and other times it comes out over cooked. If you ever come across a recipe you’d like to share, please feel free to contact me and I’ll be happy to include it in the blog! Many blessings to you!!

      MLM

    • Hi Phillip – sorry for the delayed response! That’s what it was always referred to when I was growing up. I can’t say that’s the absolute correct term….Actually any type of pasta that was made that way my mother always referred to as sopa.

  3. Love this! I’m Latina as well but being in my early 20’s no one has ever really shown me.. Thanks for the simple recipes I’ve eaten forever but am finally learning how to make!

  4. Thank you for the recipe. I used caldo de tomate by knorr instead and added some chopped garlic. It tastes exactly the way my mother makes it. Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

