Mexican Picadillo

IMG_0346

One of my favorite dishes to cook (and eat) is Picadillo. I’m all about quick meals and getting as many veggies in each meal as possible. If you just cook the basic recipe you can add corn, peas, carrots,green pepper, etc. If you look up a recipe for Picadillo online, there will be several variations – Cuban-Style, Puerto Rican -Style, Mexican-Style along with several others.  I have modified this recipe from the one my Lita (grandmother) used to make. The one thing about my Lita is that she never cut corners when it came to cooking. I truly believe she showed the love for her family and friends through her cooking. Once I master her recipe I’ll make sure to post it. This recipe is shorter, faster and made with ground turkey rather than ground beef.

 

What you will need:

1lb Ground Turkey

2 small russet potatoes peeled and diced

1 small yellow onion – diced

2 tomatoes – diced

1 tablespoon minced garlic

1/4 cup fresh cilantro – chopped

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 teaspoon ground cumin

salt and pepper to taste

 

IMG_0332

Dice tomatoes, onion, chop cilantro and garlic. Set aside

Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a pan

IMG_0334

Place diced potatoes in pan over medium heat. Cook for 5-7 minutes.

 

IMG_0338

When potatoes are almost cooked through I set them aside to add to the pan later. Because my toddler eats this too, I make sure the potatoes are cooked until they are really soft

 

IMG_0337

Once potatoes are set aside, I cook the ground turkey in the same pan.

 

IMG_0340

Crumble turkey with a spoon as it cooks – approximately 10 min

 

IMG_0342

Once turkey is cooked I add the onion, tomato, potatoes,cilantro, cumin, salt and pepper. Stir and cook for 5 minutes

 

IMG_0344

I also add a small can of green chiles to give the dish more flavor. But before I do, I separate a small serving for my toddler. Once green chiles are added, cook for another 5 minutes

 

IMG_0346

Serve hot with a side of beans, rice and tortillas. A perfect meal!

2 thoughts on “Mexican Picadillo

  1. Love your blog. Do you have a recipe for Pollo y Arroz? I had a close friend in New Mexico and her parents would make this for me. It was amazing. I have researched it on-line but it isn’t what I remember.

Leave a Reply

