Broccoli Cheese Patties

dreamstime_l_24486957

 

At 18 months my daughter is starting to be a picky eater so I’m always experimenting and trying new recipes. My “go to” resources are Weelicious.comDeceptively Delicious by Jessica Seinfeld (I bought this book years ago and knew it would come in handy one day) and of course Pinterest. The recipe below is a take on the Broccoli & Cheese Patties on Weelicious.com. I improvised and used what I already had in my kitchen.

 

IMG_1547[1]

What you’ll need: 1 cup mashed potatoes (I had leftover mashed potatoes) 1 cup broccoli florets (I used frozen broccoli) 1/2 cup cheddar cheese 1 egg 4 tablespoons bread crumbs 1/2 teaspoon of salt 1/2 cup bread crumbs 1 tablespoon vegetable oil

IMG_1549[1]

Mix potatoes, cheese, broccoli, egg, 4 tablespoons bread crumbs, and salt in a bowl

IMG_1553[1]

If mixture is too wet to form patties, add some more bread crumbs – 1 tablespoon at a time

IMG_1555[1]

Place 1/2 cup bread crumbs on a plate or in a bowl

IMG_1556[1]

Form mixture in to patties and coat with bread crumbs

 

IMG_1558[1]

Heat 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil in a frying pan over medium heat. Cook patties for 3-4 minutes on each side until golden brown.

IMG_1561[1]

Patties will have a nice brown crust on the outside once done.

IMG_1567[1]

Serve immediately and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

