Pico de Gallo

One of my favorite places to go with my daughter on the weekends is the farmer’s market. I like making a morning out of it. We’ll shop for produce, grab a little bite to eat, enjoy the outdoor entertainment and sometimes jump around in the splash pad. Most of the time I have in mind what new recipe I want to try over the weekend, so I’ll buy ingredients according to my recipe. Tomatoes, onion, cilantro, jalapenos are always on my list.  So because we’ll be grilling this weekend I decided to make a Pico de Gallo. Its easy, fresh, delicious and a great compliment to any carne asada or grilled chicken. I usually make enough to eat with tostadas or homemade tortillas.

 

IMG_0651

What you’ll need: 1 small onion, 2-3 small tomatoes, 2-3 jalapenos (depending how spicy you want the pico), cilantro, and 3 limes

 

IMG_0653

Dice tomatoes

 

IMG_0654

Dice onions

 

IMG_0655

Dice jalapenos. I take all seeds out of the jalapenos.

 

IMG_0658

Chop cilantro

 

IMG_0660

Mix everything in a bowl and add the juice of 3 limes. Add salt and pepper to taste

 

IMG_0661

Store in mason jars or any container with lid.

 

IMG_0664

The recipe made enough to fill 3 mason jars.

Leave a Reply

