Chile Rellenos with Picadillo

Growing up with a Mexican grandmother, our family Sunday brunches often consisted of chile rellenos, rice, beans and any other delicious meals my Lita decided to cook. I remember her trying to teach us how to make chile rellenos, tortillas, menudo, etc…. but as a teenager, I didn’t really pay full attention to her instructions. She would always tell me to write every step down and even though I did – when I read it back, it never made sense. I moved away when I was 19 and ever since then I have always craved some of my Lita’s dishes. Chile rellenos always intimidated me – it seemed like a lot of work and if you didn’t get the egg whites just right it would ruin the dish. Almost 13 years ago I was watching one of my favorite chefs (Tyler Florence) on a show called Food 911 where he was teaching someone to make Chile Rellenos with Picadillo. After watching that episode, I finally decided to try to make them. The Chile Rellenos my grandmother made were made with Anaheim Chili Peppers, munster cheese and chopped onions. The Tyler Florence version uses Poblano Chili Peppers. I’ve cut a few corners in making these rellenos so if you want the full recipe which includes a Tomato Ranchero Sauce (I used canned), you can find it here

 

 

IMG_1588

I bought these poblanos at my local farmer’s market

IMG_1590

char the skins of the peppers over high heat. I have an electric stove. However, if you have a gas stove you can place them directly on the flame or use your oven broiler.

IMG_1591

keep turning the peppers until the entire skin is charred and blistered but not overcooked.

IMG_1592

here they are done

IMG_1594

Place them in a plastic bag or in a bowl covered with plastic wrap. This allows the peppers to sweat making it easier to peel off the skins. Leave them covered for about 10-12 min.

IMG_1598

here they are with the skins off

IMG_1601

cut a slit along side the pepper and take out the seeds leaving the stems in tact.

The Picadillo

  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 pound ground turkey – the original recipe calls for beef
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon oregano – the original recipe calls for fresh Mexican Oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 to 1 cup tomato paste
  • 1 chipotle in adobo sauce – the original recipe calls for 2 chipotles
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper

 

IMG_1608

heat 1 tablespoon vegetable oil over medium heat. saute onions, garlic and bay leaves.

IMG_1610

add ground turkey (or beef)

IMG_1614

cook thourougly

IMG_1615

add salt, pepper, cloves, oregano, and cinnamon

IMG_1616

add tomato paste and make sure it’s fully incorporated in mixture

IMG_1619

add chipotle pepper – the original recipe calls for two peppers plus raisins, almonds and olives.

IMG_1618

mix well

IMG_1623

stuff the peppers with picadillo.

 

IMG_1624

I like to put a generous amount of picadillo but also make sure I have room to close the peppers

IMG_1625

add some cheese. I didn’t have queso fresco so I used the cheese I already had

 

Egg Mixture

*Heat vegetable oil over medium/high heat in a pan or skillet*

IMG_1627

Separate egg whites from egg yolks

IMG_1628

keep egg yolks in separate bowl.

IMG_1629

beat egg whites

IMG_1631

stop beating once stiff peaks form

IMG_1632

lightly beat egg yolks with a fork

IMG_1633

place flour on a plate

IMG_1634

fold egg yolks into egg white mixture

IMG_1638

close peppers and secure opening with tooth picks. coat peppers with flour

IMG_1639

dip into egg mixture – hold by the stem

IMG_1640

once pepper is fully covered with mixture pull it out by the stem

IMG_1641

place in pan – oil and pan must be very hot

IMG_1644

cook until both sides are evenly browned – about 3-4 minutes on each side

IMG_1645

place on a plate lined with paper towels

IMG_1653

continue cooking the rest of the peppers

 

Serve immediately with a side of rice, beans and tortillas. You can pour Tyler Florence’s Tomato Ranchero Sauce or use some Herdez salsa rancera.

One thought on “Chile Rellenos with Picadillo

Leave a Reply

