Mimi’s Tex-Mex Slow Cooker Beans

Being a working mom, I like to spend as much time as I can with my baby girl on the weekends, so I’m always looking for crock pot recipes.  My sisters and I like to share recipes with each other, especially if they are quick and easy.  My older sister, who we call Mimi, text me this recipe and said I had to try it. It is super simple and only has 3 ingredients. I’m sure you can add ingredients and adapt to your taste and it will still come out delicious.

IMG_2252[1]

 

IMG_2202

What you will need: 1lb pinto beans 1 can Rotel diced tomatoes & green chilies 1 smoked sausage

IMG_2204

First place beans in a colander and rinse them out. Pick out any debris. Once rinsed, I place them in a container and soak them overnight or for 2-3 hours if I haven’t planned ahead.

Cut smoked sausage into 1/4 inch slices

IMG_2210

Place sausage slices at the bottom of crockpot

IMG_2212

Once beans have soaked for a few hours, drain the water and place beans over the sliced sausage

IMG_2213

Fill crockpot with enough hot water to cover by 2 inches. cook on low for 6 hours

IMG_2218

After 6 hours uncover and stir a few times

IMG_2220

Add the entire can of Rotel tomatoes & green chilies, mix, cover and cook for another 30 min

IMG_2222

Uncover and stir a few times

IMG_2224

Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

