Goldfish Pretzel Rods and Marshmallow Pops

photo

When my daughter’s daycare teacher was planning her son’s birthday party she showed me a picture she found on Pinterest of pretzel rods decorated with goldfish crackers. She asked if I could figure out how to make them. I actually found them really simple to make once I figured out what I needed. They came out pretty close to the picture she showed me. I also made some marshmallow pops to go with the pretzel rods.

What you will need:

  • pretzel rods
  • giant marshmallows
  • goldfish crackers
  • graham cracker crumbs
  • almond bark
  • food coloring
  • gold sprinkles
  • blue sprinkles
  • white pearls
  • cookie sticks
  • pretzel bags
  • medium size treat bags

Here is a closer look at the sprinkles used

Sugar Pearls- WhitePearlized Sugar - GoldBlue Colored Sugars

 

Melt almond bark in a pan over medium heat. Make sure you stir frequently so that it doesn’t burn.

IMG_1375

Once almond bark is melted I usually pour it into a mixing bowl and add the food coloring there. Add desired amount to get the right color and mix slowly.

IMG_3275
I used coffee filters and held pretzel rods over them as I was adding the sprinkles. The filters catch any sprinkles that don’t make it on the rods. I also used them to hold the graham cracker crumbs and goldfish crackers. I really find coffee filters useful while I’m baking.

IMG_3278
Set up your marshmallows with the cookie sticks.


Separate the broken rods from the bag and layout the ones you will use. I normally keep the broken ones and make mini chocolate covered rods.

IMG_3284
Dip stick in almond bark and insert back into marshmallow. Let dry for 5 minutes. Dip marshmallow in almond bark. Coat bottom with graham cracker crumbs. Place a goldfish cracker in the center of each marshmallow then add the sugar pearls. I decorated both sides. Place on wax paper and let dry for at least 1 hour.

IMG_3282

Dip the pretzel rods in almond bark. Make sure you shake off any excess melted bark. Add blue sprinkles to the top of the rods. Add gold sprinkles to the base of the rods. Add your goldfish and sugar pearls. Let dry for 1 hour on wax paper.

IMG_2904

I used 2 packages of almond bark and had enough to make 30 pretzel rods and 28 marshmallow pops.
IMG_3286
Use individual bags for the rods or group a few together. With the marshmallows you can place them on a platter or wrap them individually (not pictured).

IMG_2905

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

