Alpina Avena Smoothies and Breakfast Cakes

 

dreamstime_l_24486957

My household has been pretty crazy the past month. This time of year always flies by not only because of the holidays but also because kids are busy at school, I’m wrapping up the year at work and my guy is busy with holiday performances. It’s very typical of me to rush out the door in the morning without eating breakfast. I try to be good about preparing something to either eat at home or take to work. Recently I’ve found myself throwing one of the Alpina Avena smoothies in my purse. They come in delicious flavors and are so convenient when you are on the go.

Good thing I had all these flavors to choose from on Black Friday!

IMG_3452[1]

Took one with me for an early production call.

IMG_3269[1]

My guy started taking a smoothie to work with him
IMG_3429[1]

This morning I had a smoothie while doing some gift wrapping

IMG_3435[1]

I mixed fruit with the Avena smoothie and it came out delicious

IMG_3433[1]

IMG_3436[1]

Because I loved the Dulce de Leche flavor so much I added it to a cake recipe for the extra sweetness.

What you will need

  • 4 eggs
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2-1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 cup Dulce de Leche Alpina Avena
  • 10 tablespoons butter, cubed

Preheat over to 350°

  IMG_3438[1]
Beat eggs on high for 5-7 minutes until they have a thick consistency
IMG_3439[1]
Gradually add sugar and mix until light and fluffy, then add vanilla, flour and baking powder (not pictured – my daughter deleted some of my pictures:)
 IMG_3440[1]
In a small saucepan add Dulce de Leche Alpina Avena Smoothie and butter. Melt over medium heat, stirring constantly
IMG_3442[1]
Mixture will be smooth and warm. Make sure the heat is not too high because it will burn. Add this mixture to the batter only mixing until incorporated (not pictured)
  IMG_3443[1]
I decided to make mini-bundt cakes but you can also use a 13in x 9in cake pan. Bake for 20 min if using mini-bundt cake pan. Bake for 30-35 minutes if using cake pan or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
 IMG_3444[1]
Let cool completely and serve with fruit of your choice.
IMG_3448[1]
Leave a Reply

