Bacon Wrapped Turkey

I’m in full preparation mode for Thanksgiving. A few weeks ahead of time I like to look up new recipes for side dishes and appetizers. The weekend leading up to the holiday I usually have the Food Network or The Cooking Channel on since they do a ton of Thanksgiving specials. There is one dish I have yet to make differently. Ever since I can remember my mother has ALWAYS wrapped her turkey with bacon. We are talking 30+ years of my childhood memories… waiting for the turkey to be done so I can get a piece of the crispy bacon.

I began making the Herbes de Provence Roast Turkey recipe from Williams-Sonoma years ago and modified it slightly. You can definitely follow the Williams-Sonoma recipe or any other savory recipe and just cover with bacon, I’m sure it will turn out delicious either way.

Preheat oven to 425.

What you will need:

Turkey (I buy a 16lb-18lb)

1 1/2  small onions quartered

3 celery stalks cut in to small chunks

3 carrots (same as celery – cut in to small chunks)

1 1/2 sticks of butter (you can definitely add more)

  • Remove the giblets and neck from the turkey .
  • Thaw, rinse and pat the turkey dry.
  • Melt 1 stick of butter in a medium bowl.
  • Once melted, add your onion, celery, carrots and 3 Tbs. of Herbes de Provence.  I also add a small amount of freshly chopped herbs to the bowl…I buy the fresh poultry mix you can find at the supermarket.
  • Mix well to make sure the vegetables are fully coated with butter.
  • Put as much of the mixture in to the cavity as you can fit. Anything that’s left over you can place in the roasting pan.
  • Melt remaining butter. Brush the turkey with melted butter and add some freshly chopped herbs on top.
  • Finally start laying the bacon on top. I use the entire package to make sure the turkey is fully covered.

IMG_3209

Roast the turkey for 30 minutes on 425. After the 30 minutes, reduce the temperature to 325 and baste every 15-20 minutes. Make sure you cook your turkey according to a cooking chart. You can find one by clicking here.

If the bacon starts getting really dark, I cover the top of the turkey with foil.

Once turkey is done (according to cooking temperatures in the chart), let it rest for 20 minutes.

You can eat the bacon along side the turkey or chop it up and serve it on top of the dressing. Yum!!

Leave a Reply

