Ground Turkey Picadillo with HERDEZ® Salsa Verde

This time of year has become bitter sweet for me. This year I lost my last grandparent and although I have lived away from home a long time (20 years), I am always filled with memories of our big family spending the holidays together. I grew up dancing Folklorico and during this time of year, we would have special performances for Las Posadas. I remember being very young when our Folklorico group would walk up and down neighborhood streets caroling during Las Posadas. As a group we would go to a few houses as we sang, knocked on the door and be turned away. We would finally end up at one particular house (which was our instructors home), knock on the door and after being turned down a few times, we would be let in. At this point, all the dancers, siblings and parents would enjoy a festive evening with tons of food, cookies, cakes, and beverages. Being in the Folklorico group has given me wonderful memories of celebrating Las Posadas. My grandparents would celebrate by simply having family gatherings each night of Las Posadas. When my dad was young, each of his aunts, uncles, or family friends would take turns hosting a night where they would enjoy each other’s company. The food prepared was anything they had an abundance of, so the menu was different at each home…tamales, mole, enchiladas, chile rellenos, pozole, menudo, and for dessert pan dulce, Buñuelos atole, or Ponche . I’m very fortunate that because of my other half, my daughter is exposed to the music of Las Posadas. She and I venture out on the weekends during the holiday season to catch some of his shows (that’s him with the microphone).  She has so much fun hitting the pinata, singing and dancing. Because life is so busy right now, I try to find ways to prepare fast delicious food that reminds me of home. I miss the flavors of my grandmother’s Mexican food. My family and I eat a lot of ground turkey – I substitute it for ground beef in most dishes I make. So with all the craziness of the holiday bustle here is a quick flavorful recipe using HERDEZ® Salsa Verde. Turkey Picadillo with HERDEZ® Salsa Verde. What you will need: 2lbs Ground Turkey 1 small onion diced 1 small tomato diced 1/4 cup chopped cilantro salt and pepper to taste 1/4 cup of HERDEZ® Salsa Verde (optional: a small chopped potato)

WP_20151215_22_12_29_Pro[1]

Once oil is heated, add onion to pan and saute until onion is transparent. Around 5 min. At this point you would cook the potato with the onion and a little longer than 5 min. Until potato is halfway cooked.

Add ground turkey to pan. Break up the turkey with a spoon.

WP_20151215_22_27_10_Pro[1]

Once turkey is almost fully cooked add tomato and mix.

Add the fresh cilantro and mix.

WP_20151215_22_35_34_Pro[1]

Finally add the HERDEZ® Salsa Verde and mix well. Allow to cook for another 5-7 min to really get those great flavors in the turkey.

WP_20151215_23_13_05_Pro[1]

Place in a serving dish and enjoy. I normally serve this alongside Mexican pasta shells and some warm tortillas.

WP_20151215_23_15_43_Pro[1]

The best part of celebrating Las Posadas is celebrating family even though they are no longer with us. I use my grandmothers serving dishes and her table cloths.

WP_20151215_23_20_18_Pro[1]   For more great recipes from HERDEZ®, make sure you visit their website by clicking here As this holiday brings family and friends coming together enjoying food and celebrations, HERDEZ® brand is holding a photo contest on Instagram. The Share in the Magic of #MisPosadas contest lasts from December 7th – January 6th. Each week, a fill in the blank question relevant to the holiday will be posted for fan to answer with a photo. Three top winners will be selected as well as honorable mentions. Prizes are as follows: – Grand Prize: Dinner prepared by a personal chef for up to 4 people in your very own home! – 2nd Place: $250 Gift Basket – 3rd Place: $200 Gift Basket – Honorable Mention: Custom T-shirts To enter, submit a photo on Instagram with the hashtag #MisPosadas to answer the weekly fill in the blank question. Many thanks to HERDEZ® Brand for sponsoring today’s story and encouraging me to further celebrate Las Posadas!

One thought on “Ground Turkey Picadillo with HERDEZ® Salsa Verde

Leave a Reply

