Celebrating Dia de los Muertos – Day of the Dead

 

Growing up in El Paso, Texas,  I was surrounded by rich Mexican culture. One of the celebrations that was prevalent in my childhood was Dia de Los Muertos. It wasn’t just a holiday celebrated by my grandparents, it was a holiday that I participated in by dancing with the Folklorico group around the city.  I have to admit, I found it pretty creepy when I was a young child and didn’t fully understand the purpose of the celebrations. Now, especially since my grandparents and nephew have passed away, I find it important to celebrate their lives and pay tribute to them. I have to absolutely credit Elena of Avalor for sparking my daughter’s interest in Dia de Los Muertos.


While it has become trendy and commercialized, for those of us grew up with grandparents/great grandparents exposing us to Dia de Los Muertos,  I believe the simple, beautiful tradition of this holiday is one that should be passed down to our children.

You can find so many great ideas online for altars, recipes and decorations – here are some of my favorites:

40 Dia De Los Muertos Activities For The Whole Family – Buzzfeed

DIY: Banner for Dia De Los Muertos – Mom.me

Free Dia De Los Muertos Printable Mask – My Very Educated Mother

#freeprintable #DayoftheDeadMask #kidscraft

Food signs – Happy Thought

tmexican signs to cut out and make for free

How to Paint a Sugar Skull…On Your Face! – Brit+Co

Dia De Los Muertos Altar – Art Is Fun

Day of the Dead Altar

15 Traditional Day of the Dead Recipes for Celebrating Dia de los Muertos – Growing Up Bilingual 

Potato pan de muerto

19 Delicious Things to Make for Dia De Los Muertos – Buzzfeed 

Day of the Dead Flower Headpiece Tutorial – tikkido

Day of the Dead Doll – Aesthetic Nest 

Day of the Dead Marshmallow Sugar Skull Pops – Mom.me

 

 

One thought on “Celebrating Dia de los Muertos – Day of the Dead

Leave a Reply

