Isabella’s Story – #Isabellawarriors

For the past several weeks my Facebook newsfeed has been flooded with posts about Isabella. I don’t know Isabella, but her parents and I have a friend in common. Through this friends’ persistence and dedication I was able to learn Isabella’s story. The details, the status updates, and the fundraisers have struck my heart in so many ways.

I felt compelled to share Isabella’s journey written by Joanne Chiang Deherrera:

On Jan 13, doctors discovered a brain tumor and by Jan 24th Isabella underwent 9 hr brain surgery at Nicklaus Children’s Hospital.  This is a very rare type of brain cancer called Atypical Teratoid Rhabdoid Tumor, better known as AT/RT, at 19 months old.  Only 1% of pediatric brain tumors are qualified as AT/RT. She is about to embark on her 3rd week of chemo at Arnold Palmer Hospital for Children.  Isabella and her parents, Claudia and Darren, are undergoing treatment and in-patient care (living at the hospital) for the next 6 months.

I’m sharing this story because it is close to my heart. Isabella and our son have been classmates since they were 12 weeks old.

If you would like to follow their journey and progress or make monetary donations, please visit:
https://www.youcaring.com/claudiakozinerdarrenandisabellamasucci-760530

Here are details for a fundraising event on 3/23 (next Thurs) if you would like to donate raffle prizes

https://www.facebook.com/events/110395006155642??ti=ia

If you would like to join the meal train:
https://www.mealtrain.com/trains/yl2ewy
*if you don’t cook, you can also consider services such as doorstep delivery or ubereats

For those of you in Orlando, FL:

If you’re attending the Arnold Palmer Invitational, stop by the LEMON-AID stand on Sat 3/18 to support Isabella and the fight of her life!

If you would like to support LEMON-AID on Sat 3/18 between 8-11A, please add this event to your FB calendar:

https://www.facebook.com/events/304560466625796??ti=ia 

Directions to LEMON-AID:

Enter from Apopka Vineland onto Bay Side Drive or North Bay Blvd…as you follow Bay Side Drive towards Masters Blvd/Bay Hill…follow signs to LEMON-AID

We are #isabellawarriors
#isabellastrong
#arniewould
#littlelioness

As I rock my children to sleep every night …cherishing the memories we made today…and wondering what tomorrow brings. I then realize that every parent I know is doing the same thing. Including Isabella’s parents. And I keep asking myself…what else can I do, who else can I share, who else can I empower?

-Joanne

Leave a Reply

